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~To Forge a Realm-

A game by Andrea Chiarvesio and Luca Iennaco
2-5 players / Age 13+

The old territories of Kingsburg are safe, but new lands have been annexed: the forging of the realm continues! Ancient
enemies press the borders, so once again King Tritus needs new governors to defend and develop the outlying provinces.

Architects and engineers have designed new structures, and new and safer roads allow the governors to predict more

accurately how many reinforcements they’ll receive for upcoming battles (but as the kingdom is larger, the troops are
spread out more thinly). New challenges await the governors, and once again, one place has been reserved in the Royal

Council for the best governor!

Components
5 New Province Sheets, each one with 2 14 Alternative Building Rows (2 copies 24 Governor Cards (+1 blank card for
additional building rows (7 rows per sheet): of 7 different building rows): customization):
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29 Destiny Cards (+1 blank card for 30 Soldier Tokens (6 for each color, with
customization): the values: 0, 1, 1, 2, 3, 4):
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USil‘lg This Expansion This rulebook contains new Kingsburg rules for using
d ) ) the five expansion modules and clarifications of the
A copy of the Kingsburg base game is required to play base game’s rules.

Kingsburg: To Forge a Realm.

) ) Note: Using an expansion module will make the game
Kingsburg: To Forge a Realm offers five expansion last 5-15 minutes longer. A game with all five expansion

modules to the players. Each module can be added on modules used together can last more than two hours.
its own to the base game, or players can agree to add

multiple modules at the same time.
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The Kingsburg: To Forge a Realm expansion modules
are:

Module 1: Additional Building Rows
Module 2: Alternative Building Rows
Module 3: Governor Cards

Module 4: Destiny Cards

Module 5: Soldier Tokens

Expansion Modules

The following expansion modules can be used
individually or in any combination with the base
Kingsburg rules.

Module 1: Additional Building Rows

Players use the new province sheets to replace the
province sheets from the base Kingsburg game. Two
building rows have been added to the province sheets
to increase the number of rows to seven. Building
construction rules are unchanged from the base
Kingsburg game.

Notes

The following notes provide additional clarifications related
to this expansion module.

Military Academy and Soldier Tokens

When playing with expansion Module 1: Additional Building
Rows and Module 5: Soldier Tokens, the player rolls 1d3
(1d6/2) for the Military Academy (the player rolls the die
after choosing a Soldier Token).

Sawmill, Quarry, Goldsmith

If activated, each may be used only once per season (the
Sawmill can transform a single wood cube into 2 gold cubes,
not 2 wood into 4 gold).

Training Camp

This building’s power is activated before Phase 7: Recruit
Soldiers.

Improvised Defenses

The power of Improvised Defenses applies versus enemies
whose strength (printed on the card) is 5 or less. Modifiers
are ignored when checking to see if the bonus from
Improvised Defenses applies or not.

Module 2: Alternative Building Rows

Before starting the game, players take all 14 alternative
building rows and place them facedown on the playing
surface. Each player draws two random building rows
(if a player draws two identical rows, he may return
one, always facedown, and draw another row as a
replacement). Now, each player chooses whether to
use both, one, or none of the alternative building rows
he drew for the current game.

Alternative building rows being used are placed on

the province sheet so that the alternative building

row covers the “original” row that is being replaced.
Each alternative building row clearly indicates by

letter which “original” row is to be replaced by

the alternative building row (see diagram). Unused
alternative building rows are returned to the game box.

If players are using Module 2: Alternative Building
Rows but not Module 1: Additional Building Rows, they
should remove before starting the alternative building




At the beginning of each productive season, AL the beginning of cach prods
if you lave rolled the same number on all

your dice, you may reroll one of them, renodl all of them.,

iy Market
i 2 o A

.ﬁl &

replaces the covered row.

the total of your dice i 7 or less, you mis

The alternative building rows from Module 2 are used as overlays on the province sheets. Each alternative building row completely

" maay wse the Sawmill,
also in spring amd autumn,

'8 = Farms _ g »
sl e\ . aetbAl

rows corresponding to building row A and building
row G. In addition, if players are using the province
sheets from the base Kingsburg game, they may need
to consult the new province sheets provided in Module
1 to see what the letters of the building rows are. The
restriction that an alternative building row can only
replace a row with the same letter still applies.

If players are using Module 2: Alternative Building
Rows and Module 3: Governor Cards, players may
choose their Governor Cards before deciding which of
their alternative building rows to use.

Optional Rule: Non-random Selection of Alternative
Building Rows

Instead of randomly choosing alternative building rows,

if all players agree, they may use the following selection
method. Players should place the 14 alternative building
rows faceup. The first player (randomly determined) selects
one building row, followed by the next player in clockwise
order. When every player has taken a building row, players
start again, except with the player that chose last being
the first to choose this time and selection proceeding
counterclockwise. Once each player has selected two building
rows, each player chooses which, if any, of the alternative
building rows to use for the current game.

Notes

The following notes provide additional clarifications related
to this expansion module.

Monastery
“+2” tokens do not count as goods.

Small Palisade

This building activates at the beginning of Phase 8: Winter,
so a soldier recruited during Phase 7: Recruit Soldiers counts
with respect to activating the Small Palisade.

Architects’ Guild

The extra Victory Points (VP) are awarded only for
buildings built after the Architects’ Guild (and are not
awarded for the Architects’ Guild itself). Those extra VP
are not lost if a building is destroyed, even if the Architects’
Guild itself is destroyed. (However, the Architects’ Guild
must be intact for the endgame VP bonus to be awarded.)

The Architects’ Guild does not award extra VP for the
“free buildings” magically constructed by the Sorcerer (see
Module 3: Governor Cards).

School

This building is activated at the end of Phase 7: Recruit
Soldiers, so soldiers recruited during that phase do count
when activating the School.

Altar, Griffin Ranch, University
White dice are included in a player’s dice total.
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The Governor Cards from Module 3 grant the players
special abilities to call upon during the game.

Module 3: Governor Cards

One player shuffles the Governor Cards and deals three
random cards to each player (he returns the remaining
cards to the game box). Each player chooses one of his
three Governor Cards and places it facedown in front
of himself and returns the other two cards back to

the box. When all the players have finished choosing,
the selected cards are revealed simultaneously. Each
Governor Card grants a special benefit to the player
that chooses it.

Optional Rule: Bidding for Governor Cards

Players may use the following alternative method to assign
Governors, if they like.

One player shuffles the Governor Cards and draws a number
of cards equal to the number of players, plus one. The first
player (randomly determined) selects one card and makes a
bid in VP (he can offer 0 VP). The player to his left can raise
the bid or pass. Bidding continues this way until there is a
full round of players passing. The high bidder then pays as
many VP as he offered and takes the card. (A bid of 0 VP can
win the bid if everyone else passes.) That player cannot bid
anymore for other cards. If the winner of the bid was not
the first player, the first player makes a new bid for another
card. If the winner of the bid was the first player, however,
the player to the left of the first player becomes the new first
player. This bidding process continues until all players have
received one Governor Card. The remaining card is returned
to the game box.

Notes

The following notes provide additional clarifications related
to this expansion module.

Thief
If the bidding variant for Governor Card selection was used

and a player paid to acquire the Thief, he still has to pay the
additional VP penalty listed on the Thief card (for instance,
if he paid 2 VP to obtain the Thief card, he’ll start the game
at -5 VP).

Miner, Carpenter, Sculptor

These Governor Cards also provide the free good at the end
of the fifth year (the good can be used when getting extra
VP from the Cathedral).

Minstrel

The Minstrel power is the very last one to be activated at
the end of every year, after awards from battle and any
other source, including those from the Architect or Paladin
Governor Cards, the Cathedral and Architects’ Guild
buildings, and Soldier Tokens from Module 5: Soldier Tokens.

Politician

Being the Politician allows that player to place his own dice
on one or both of the advisors on this card. The help from
the extra advisors on the card is awarded at the very same
time as the “normal” advisors with the same values. Placing
dice on this card does not prevent the player from placing
other dice on the game board and vice versa.

Architect

The check to see whether any opponent has more buildings
than the Architect player is done at the very moment the
Architect player has his turn to build (based on the current
turn order).

Prince

All dice are taken into account when checking to see whether
the Prince’s power is activated (white ones included), but if
activated, only the colored dice are affected (and their values
changed into 3, 4, and 6).

Philosopher

The player may activate the Philosopher power before

or after the powers of the Statue, Chapel, or Altar
(provided the player has the appropriate building and the
requirements of the building’s activation are met). The VP
is awarded when looking at the die total right after using
the Philosopher reroll power and only if no other power is
activated to further roll one or more of the dice.

Preacher

This Governor Card provides 1 VP even if the Preacher player
is the one who did not build anything this turn.

Tax Collector

Goods are received immediately after the other player builds,
so the goods can be used during the same turn.



Module 4: Destiny Cards

Before starting the game, one player shuffles the
Destiny Cards and places the deck close to the game
board. At the beginning of Phase 1 of each year, one

player turns over the top card in the Destiny Card deck.

This card immediately takes effect, and its effect lasts
until the end of Phase 8, when it is discarded.

The King (#18) cannot be influenced.
If in a previous year the King was sick already,
the King dies and the game immediately ends.

Good Year

In every productive season, each player
without white dice gains one white die; other
players receive 1 good of their choice.

The Destiny Cards from Module 4 dictate special
circumstances that affect the players’ success each year.

Module 5: Soldier Tokens

At the beginning of the game, each player takes one
set of Soldier Tokens in the same color as his dice.
(Each set has on the other side the numbers 0, 1, 1, 2,
3,4.)

During Phase 8: Winter, players do not roll the King’s
die for reinforcements. Instead, every player chooses
(simultaneously and secretly) one of his tokens.

The Soldier Tokens from Module 5 determine each player’s
individual reinforcements rather than a shared die roll.

When all players have selected a token, the tokens are
revealed and each player receives as many additional
soldiers as the number on his chosen token. Used
tokens are placed in the game box and are not
available to the players for the rest of the game. At the
end of the fifth year, each player receives as many VP
as the number shown on the one Soldier Token he has
left.

Each Soldier Token may be used only once per game.

Each player must choose a token for each battle, so at
the end of the game, each player must have only one
Soldier Token left.

Notes

The following note provides additional clarification related
to this expansion module.

Military Academy and Soldier Tokens

When playing with expansion Module 1: Additional Building
Rows and Module 5: Soldier Tokens, the player rolls 1d3
(1d6/2) for the Military Academy (he rolls the die after
choosing a Soldier Token).

Official Clarifications

The following are clarifications from the base Kingsburg
game, but will also help players correctly understand
the rules for the expansion modules.

* Only one “+2” token can be used per season by
each player to influence advisors.

* Players can have negative VP. (This can be tracked
by moving their tokens on the Scoring Track
backwards from the “0” space. The “59” space
would be the “~1” space, the “58” space would be
“~2,” and so on.)

e Players can influence the Smuggler (#14) even if
they have negative VP.

* A player can have an unlimited number of “+2”
tokens.

e “+2” tokens go back to the supply after use.

* There is no limit to the number of white dice a
player may roll in a single season. (If a player has
the Farms and receives the white die from the King
during Phase 1, that player rolls two white dice

during the following spring.)




»  White dice follow the same rules as colored
ones, with one extra rule: they may never
be used “alone.” (In other words, to
influence an advisor a player always needs
at least one colored die, not just white dice
or “+2” tokens.)

» A “+4+2” token may be used in conjunction
with one or more white dice, but must
always be used with a colored die as well.

Buildings whose powers are activated “at the end
of a season” can be used in the same season they
are built. (If a player builds an Inn during summer,
he obtains the “+2” token provided by the Inn at
the end of the same season.)

Some building or governor powers have
requirements. If the requirements are not met, the
powers do not activate.

»  When multiple powers can potentially
be activated at the same time, it is up to
the player using the powers to choose
the order in which they are activated.

If activating one power then denies the
requirements for other powers, it is not
possible to activate the other powers
anymore.

»  Each building or governor may be activated
only once per season unless otherwise
specified.

»  Exception: Building and governor powers
whose requirements are linked to the
“player dice total” and whose powers
don’t allow any further rerolls must
be activated after every other
power. In other words, it is not

possible to receive one soldier by activating
the Griffin Ranch and then reroll one or
more dice thanks to the Statue, Altar, or
Chapel or to change the dice values with
the Prince, etc.

* Current turn order is determined only after every
player has finished activating any powers that can
change the dice values. (In other words, turn order
is based on the “final” dice values, the ones players
will have at their disposal to influence advisors
during the current season.)

Examples

Example I: At the end of summer, a player with both
the Inn and the City Hall may activate the Inn, take the
“+2” token, activate the City Hall, and score 1 VP by
paying the “+2” token just obtained.

Example II: A player with both the Statue and the
Chapel rolls dice at the beginning of a season. He
rolls 3, 3, 3 and can’t activate the Chapel, but he can
activate the Statue. If he does, and rolls a 1 when he

rerolls one die, then he can activate the Chapel and
rarall all hic dice incliudino the nne just rerolled.
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Example III: A player with both the Statue and the
Chapel rolls dice at the beginning of a season. He rolls
2, 2, 2 and can then activate either the Statue or the
Chapel. If he activates the Chapel and doesn’t roll three
identical numbers, he cannot activate the Statue. If he
chooses to activate the Statue instead, he won’t be
able to activate the Chapel unless the new dice total is
7 or lower.

Example IV: A player with the Philosopher Governor
Card and both the Statue and the Chapel rolls dice at
the beginning of a season. He rolls 2, 2, 2, and he can
now choose one of the three powers to use. If the new
dice total allows him to activate one of the two other
powers, he can do so, and if that new total allows him
to activate the only unused power left, he can do so.

He activates the Statue and rolls a 6. The new total
doesn’t allow him to activate the Chapel anymore, but
he can still use the Philosopher. He does so, and the
new roll is 1, 1, 5. Since his roll of 1, 1, 5 (dice total of
7) is lower than 2, 2, 6 (dice total of 10), he could stop
right there, score 1 VP (thanks to the Philosopher), and
keep 1, 1, 5 as his final roll.

Instead, he then activates the Chapel, and he rolls 4,

4, 4. Now, he cannot activate the Statue for a second
time, so he must keep the new total. For determining
the players’ order for the current season, his total is
12. Also, he doesn’t collect the 1 VP as the Philosopher,
since he chose to use another reroll power after using
his Philosopher reroll power.

Example V: A player with both the Chapel and the
University rolls dice at the beginning of a season

and rolls 1, 2, 3. Both the Chapel and the University
powers are based on the dice total, but the University
power doesn’t allow a reroll, so it must be activated
last. This means the player may choose to not activate
the Chapel, keep the current dice total, and receive
VP from activating the University, or he may choose
to activate the Chapel and reroll. If he activates the
Chapel, he may only activate the University if the new
total is 9 or less.

Example VI: A player with both the University and the
Griffin Ranch rolls dice at the beginning of a season
and rolls 1, 2, 3. If he doesn’t have other rerolling
powers or he chooses not to activate them, he will
receive VP from the University and a soldier thanks to
the Griffin Ranch.
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